In the top of the ninth
inning, fast ball pitcher K. K. Casey faced 4 batters and struck out all of them.
However, his opponent scored one run. No pitching substitution was made in that
inning. Is there any wrong statement in this paragraph? If not, give a
scenario on what happened?
Under the rules of baseball, a batter is
considered out on a third strike if the catcher catches the ball. However,
if the catcher misses the ball, or drops the ball, the batter will have the
opportunity to run to first base. The catcher will have to quickly recover
the ball in order to throw the batter out at first. If the batter is saved
at first, then, an error is charge to the catcher. However, the pitcher is
still credited with a strike out. The batter, who is saved on an error, is
not credited with a base hit, but is charged with an at bat.
So here is the scenario: The pitcher struck out the first two batters.
The third batter was supposed to be struck out, but on the the third strike, the
catcher misses the ball, and the batter is saved at first, but is not credited
with a hit. Then the runner steals to second, while the fourth batter is
on plate. Then he steals to third. With two strikes, the pitcher
made a wild pitch and the runner at third scored. Then, at last, the
pitcher struck out the fourth batter. The pitcher is credited with four
strike outs and the opponent team scored a run.