Under the official rules of baseball, when the catcher misses the ball, or drops the
ball on a third strike, the batter will have the
opportunity to run to first base. The catcher will have to quickly recover
the ball in order to throw the batter out at first. If the batter is saved
at first, then, an error is charged to the catcher. However, the pitcher
still be credited with a strike out. The batter is
not credited with a base hit, but is charged with an at bat.
So here is a scenario: The pitcher struck out the first two batters.
The third batter was supposed to be struck out, but on the the third strike, the
catcher missed the ball, and the batter was saved at first, but not credited
with a hit. The pitcher was credited with a strike out. Then the runner
stole to second, while the fourth batter was
on plate. Then he stole again to third. With two strikes, the pitcher
made a wild pitch and the runner at third scored. Finally, the
pitcher struck out the fourth batter. The pitcher was credited with four
strike outs and the opponent team scored a run.